NIN

Last weekend I saw NIN play at a small venue in Chicago. Supposedly, these few shows in NYC, Chicago, and Los Angeles are the last for Reznor for the foreseeable future. It’s hard to believe artists who claim they are done touring when they clearly have a large following willing to fork over 60 bucks a ticket, but I digress. The show was jam packed and I spent most of the time near the back of the venue but during Burn, I was unable to control the urge to get as close as possible. Forward thinking as I am, I left my phone and wallet with a friend just in case I was forced to crowd surface my way to the front of the stage. Somehow, I was able to slither my body through the sweaty penguin huddle and to within 30ft of Trent Reznor yet I was without a camera phone to document my success.  Instead, I was only able to capture a blurry shot from afar.

After the show, we stopped at a nearby convenience store.  For my fellow concert goers: cigarettes.  For me: two taquitos and a bag of chips.  Waiting in line, I noticed a nice gentleman pondering the perfect flower arrangement for his loved one.  I offered to pay for his gift if I could take a picture.  Small price to pay for this gem.  Outside the store, I bumped into an individual selling two tickets to a Marilyn Manson show in Milwaukee, WI.  After haggling, a deal was struck: 5 bucks for both tickets.  And although it’s unlikely I’ll be able to attend, you can’t beat the price.

Leave a Reply

