No life, just school.

Since returning from my short trip in Oregon, I’ve done nothing but study and complete homework.  It appears a Masters program is slightly more time-consuming than I had expected.  I’ve been averaging about 20+ hours of study/homework each week which, in addition to 35 hours of work (yes, Wrigley only has a 35 hour work week), doesn’t leave me with much free time.  This term has proven especially difficult given my decision to stretch myself and take classes outside of the Information Systems cirriculum, opting for the more intensive – at least in my opinion – Computer Science track.

Computer Science courses emphasize theory along with practical programming assignents.  Since I’m not a progammer by trade, I’m spending quite a bit of time re-learning Java and C.  The last time I did any serious coding was my first year at Oregon State although truthfully I can’t consider that “serious coding.”  Impassioned intellectual pursuit was not a priority during my first year in the house, to which any Sigma Pi can attest.

Leave a Reply

