I hate Comcast

I hate Comcast with every last fiber of my being.  Their HD service is overly compressed and pixelated, their service offerings are overpriced, and their customer service is atrocious.  Unfortunately, since my apartment building isn’t wired for another provider and the landlord doesn’t allow satellite dishes to be mounted on the building, I’m stuck with this horrible monopoly.

Recently, I wanted to make a couple changes to my account and while I can pay my bill through their website I can’t do anything else of any value.  How hard would it be to let me manage everything through their website.  Certainly it would be cheaper than staffing live operators.  Just a suggestion, Comcast.  But I digress.

At Comcast.com, I notice there is a Live Chat option.  I figured that would be faster/easier than calling support.  Below is my chat transcript:

user Fredrick_ has entered room

Fredrick(Thu Aug 28 13:00:04 CDT 2008)>Changes to services

analyst Tony has entered room

Tony(Thu Aug 28 13:00:08 CDT 2008)>Hello Fredrick_, Thank you for contacting Comcast Live Chat Support. My name is Tony. Please give me one moment to review your information.

Tony(Thu Aug 28 13:00:22 CDT 2008)>How may I assist you today?

Fredrick_(Thu Aug 28 12:00:50 CDT 2008)>I would like to get a 2nd public IP address and also remove cable guard from my account.

Tony(Thu Aug 28 13:02:12 CDT 2008)>What I would suggest is to transfer you to a sales to assist you in this matter Fredrick

Fredrick_(Thu Aug 28 12:02:19 CDT 2008)>ok

Tony(Thu Aug 28 13:02:31 CDT 2008)>One moment please.

Tony(Thu Aug 28 13:02:50 CDT 2008)>Please wait, while the problem is escalated to another analyst

analyst Kaycee Gail has entered room

Kaycee Gail(Thu Aug 28 13:03:00 CDT 2008)>How are you today?

Fredrick_(Thu Aug 28 12:03:03 CDT 2008)>Good

analyst Tony has left room

Kaycee Gail(Thu Aug 28 13:03:28 CDT 2008)>So, how may I help you today, Fredrick?

Fredrick_(Thu Aug 28 12:03:32 CDT 2008)>I would like to get a 2nd public IP address and also remove cable guard from my account.

Kaycee Gail(Thu Aug 28 13:05:07 CDT 2008)>Thank you for telling me that, Fredrick. I really wish to help you with your request today but for you to get a second IP address and cancel your Service Protection Plan is to call 1-888 COMCAST.

Kaycee Gail(Thu Aug 28 13:05:23 CDT 2008)>They are the only one who can access and do it in your account.

Kaycee Gail(Thu Aug 28 13:05:42 CDT 2008)>I can stay on the line while you will be calling them.

At the completion of this useless chat I was directed to an online survey.  Below is how I answered:

2 thoughts on “I hate Comcast

  1. I’m working on a redesign of the comcast.com site and I’m interested in chatting with you about your experiences with the site. I’d especially love to hear more about what you expected to be able to do on the site.

    If you are interested, please get in touch with me. We can chat via IM or on the phone or over email.

    Thanks.

    Eddie James
    Manager of User Experience, Comcast Member Services

Leave a Reply

