Real cost of owning a car in Chicago

When I purchased my car in Oregon, I only budgeted for my monthly car payment, insurance, and a small yearly maintenance stipend. Now that I’ve been in Chicago for just over three years, I realize that Chicago assesses their own surcharges. The screenshot to the right is the additional “cost” of owning a car in Chicago.

Update – 9/15/2009: It appears that, even though I am privy to nearly all of Chicago’s parking tricks, I am still unable to outsmart the long arm of the law.  I’ve been cited 15 times since my original post in December of 2007.  “You can put it on the board, YES!

Leave a Reply

